Day 2 of work placement at Wed magazine

April 27, 2011 at 8:51 pm (placement 2011)

Today, is my first day working as a freelance journalist and contributor for Wed magazine. Instead of going into the office I got the chance to experience what it is like to work from home. This comes with it owns unique set of challenges which I did not expect coming.

All communication is done through email and the occasional text message. This morning I received an email with a list of things that I needed to complete these were:

  • Look at forthcoming trends in the world of weddings.
  • Write notes on these trends and what designers, beauty therapists etc. are doing with these trends.
  • Look forpossible new locations that could be added to their directories for possible future work.

 

I started by looking at wedding blogs and local wedding designers to get inspiration. It soon became apparent that the bohemian theme is the massive trend engulfing the newlywed circle.

Outdoor weddings in marquees and orchards with bare foot brides and minimal make-up is setting a new unconventional trend as a new way forward. This is most likely because of the spring/summer season. 

Say goodbye to the white wedding and say hello to the boho celebration of love.

With this trend in mind I looked at wedding receptions and entertainment and the use of nature to show an ultimate declaration of love.

One of the common themes is the use of flowers in boho style whether this be woven into the hair or dress or used on the cake design. The popular flowers to use are wild flowers.

Not only did I look at the bride but I also looked at the groom (a much overlooked person in the world of wedding) to see his approach to bohemia. This is normally a navy blue suit with open collar shirt, a much more relaxed approach compared with the rigid conventions normally set by the bride.

I also looked at colour schemes used and found a palette of colours used, typically a pastel or vibrant colour.

The look for new locations is an ongoing thing I am currently looking through Wed’s directory and researching what they may have missed or if there is any up-coming designers or venues.

This will take some time so luckily with the future bank holiday long weekend I am going to use this time to keep researching into hidden gems in the south west wedding. I’m sure they are out there and I will find you.