Day 6 of work placement at Wed magazine

May 9, 2011 at 9:24 pm (placement 2011)

I’m now on my last week of my placement at Wed magazine. Today consisted of real weddings, trends around hair and beauty and also making sure that the websites and contact numbers in their directories are correct.

Firstly, I looked at a real wedding story that I had been working on the other day, their were some issues of 3rd person quotes to clear up, but now it is has been sorted and is now completed and sent to editorial control.

After doing this I got a chance to see the finished pictures from the photoshoot I went too last week. It was amazing how wonderful they look and what they have managed to get from the shoot.

 I was asked what I thought were the best ones. By a pure stoke of luck maybe? I managed to find the pictures that Rebecca had chosen, so hopefully they will be the ones that get printed. It was wonderful to see these pictures again and to follow the process from photoshoot to print.

This has given me great insight into how a magazine works especially ones involving fashion and highly artistic shoots and spreads.

I also looked at trends around hair and beauty for spring/summer 2011, I’m not sure if this is for a future article or just helpful to keep up to date. Although with the beauty trends I added in how women could replicate this look and where they could find the makeup to do it.

After this I had a task of writing another real wedding article about a local Pirate FM presenter and his bride. With the real wedding stories they are a great way for me to get bylines in Wed magazine. I am really looking forward to seeing my name in future issues.

Overall, so far my experience with Wed has been extremely positive, Brendan and Rebecca have been extremely welcoming and have taught me loads about how a magazine works behind the scenes. It definitely has been a wise choice to do a placement with them.

For this week I will be focusing on getting all the right information for my case study, this includes final interviews and research into their magazine and website.

Leave a comment